September 5, 2018 | Bringing Theory to Practice Announces New Advisory Board


Caitlin Salins, Executive Project Manager and Secretary to the Board, 
Bringing Theory to Practice

The Bringing Theory to Practice (BTtoP) project is pleased to announce the formation of a formal Advisory Board and the inaugural selection of seventeen Board members. Since 2003, in partnership with the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U), BTtoP has fostered innovative practices, research, and publications to renew the core purposes of undergraduate education. The project has supported nearly six hundred grantee projects on more than 350 campuses across the country in areas such as integrative learning, community and civic engagement, and student well-being; has released seven books and a triannual newsletter; and has participated in and held numerous events and conferences, including our most recent national conference, “The Whole Student: Intersectionality and Well-Being."

The launch of the Advisory Board comes during a period of transition, as BTtoP’s founding Director, Donald W. Harward, stepped down this past June. David Scobey was selected to succeed him. “With the close of BTtoP’s first chapter, the moment was right to convene a formal advisory group that could help our new Director in setting strategic priorities, lifting up the work of the project, and sustaining its growth and future,” said BTtoP’s Cofounder and Founding Director Donald W. Harward. “I am excited by the outstanding group that David, the staff, and I have brought together. I am also honored to serve on the Board myself.”

The Advisory Board has a diverse membership and is designed to provide strategic, intellectual, and programmatic counsel to Scobey and the BTtoP staff, as well as to amplify outreach to external partners and the larger public. It comprises educators and leaders from a variety of fields, professional roles, academic sectors, generations, and regions. The Advisory Board includes both longtime veterans of BTtoP’s work as well as fresh voices. “It is wonderful that national leaders like Lynn Pasquerella, President of AAC&U, and Martha Kanter, Undersecretary of Education in the Obama administration, have agreed to serve on the Advisory Board,” said David Scobey, Director of Bringing Theory to Practice. “It is also critical that the Board includes a mix of young faculty, seasoned administrators, and some of the most innovative thinkers and practitioners in higher education. I am elated to work with them as we build on the achievements of BTtoP’s first fifteen years and look toward the future.”

Members of the Bringing Theory to Practice Advisory Board include:

  • Adriana Aldana, Professor of Social Work, California State University–Dominguez Hills
  • Randy Bass, Vice Provost for Education and Professor of English, Georgetown University
  • Johnnella Butler, Professor of Comparative Women’s Studies and former Provost, Spelman College
  • Joyce Bylander, former Vice President and Dean of Student Life, Dickinson College
  • Timothy K. Eatman, Inaugural Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community, Rutgers University–Newark; and Faculty Codirector of Imagining America: Artists and Scholars in Public Life
  • Sally Engelhard Pingree, President of the S. Engelhard Center; Cofounder, BTtoP
  • Donald W. Harward, President Emeritus, Bates College; Cofounder and former Director, BTtoP
  • Tessa Hicks Peterson, Assistant Vice President of Community Engagement at Pitzer College and Associate Professor of Urban Studies, Pitzer College
  • Martha Kanter, Executive Director, College Promise Campaign; and former Undersecretary of Education
  • Julie Kidd, President and Trustee, The Endeavor Foundation
  • Caryn McTighe Musil, Senior Scholar and Director of Civic Learning and Democracy Initiatives, Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)
  • Jonathan Metzl, Frederick B. Rentschler II Professor of Sociology and Psychiatry, and the Director of the Center for Medicine, Health, and Society, Vanderbilt University
  • Ken O’Donnell, Vice Provost, California State University–Dominguez Hills
  • Lynn Pasquerella, President, Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)
  • Joan Riley, Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Educational Innovation, Georgetown University
  • Verdis Robinson, Director for Community College Engagement, Campus Compact
  • Philip Rous, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

To learn more about BTtoP’s Advisory Board, visit